Women in Focus awards

At the NTD Summit, we'll be celebrating and acknowledging the vital role of women in defeating neglected tropical diseases with an awards ceremony at our evening reception on Wednesday, 19 April.

Celebrating the role of women in defeating NTDs

The roles of women in our sector are often some of the untold stories of our community. Our Women in Focus awards will recognise their stories with four award categories.  

Nominations for the Women in Focus awards have now closed. Nominations were open from 30 January 2017 to 26 February 2017. The winners will be announced at the NTD Summit on 19 April 2017.

Award categories

  • Category 1: Women who have been affected by NTDs themselves and have made significant contributions in supporting others.
  • Category 2: Women working at the community level, such as community directed distributors, teachers, environment assistants and community health workers who have made a remarkable impact in their work linked to NTDs.
  • Category 3: Women working at the health center, sub-national or national level who have given exceptional service towards NTD control and elimination.
  • Category 4: Women working for NGOs or community-based organisations who have made a significant contribution towards NTD control and elimination.

Contact us

Please email us if you have any questions about the awards.

The awards are being organised by Uniting to Combat NTDs and the Neglected Tropical Disease NGDO Network.

Uniting to Combat NTDs and the Neglected Tropical Disease NGDO Network

Uniting to Combat NTDs, the World Health Organization and the NTD community are hosting the NTD Summit in Geneva, Switzerland in April 2017.

We'll celebrate the community's achievements over the past 5 years and plan for the future as we aim to control, eliminate and eradicate 10 neglected tropical diseases.

NTD Summit

How to help

Join us

Join us in the battle against neglected tropical diseases